2nd Generation This includes all Eclipses, and Talons built from 1995-1999

some serious help please

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2013, 11:26 PM
Default some serious help please

ok, so i just ended up getting a 97 eclipse GS-T already moded. previous owner told me that the engine is from a 95 eagle talon TSI. Mods include percision T3/T4 turbo system, larger injectors, fuel pump, fuel pump relay, and an apexi SAFC2. when i got the car it was ideling rough/ sometimes dying when you applied the clutch and came to a stop while driving. the engine had some oil leaks and coolant leaks and needed plugs and wires. obviously running rich because the plugs looked new, but where pitch black on the tips. i decided to fix all the leaks and tune up before i even drove the car. after getting all the vaccume lines fixed and fluid leaks fixed its time to get into getting the car running right. this is where i have no experience. i am a certified gm mechanic, so actually duing repairs is no problem, but i have always been a muscle car v8 guy, and never hade a forced induction vehicle. when the vehicle idles, it is between 250 and 800 rpm and pretty jumpy. it runs extreamly rich, to the point of burning eyes driving down the road. as far as crusing down the road it runs really well. as soon as you go to make a pull, in any gear, when the boost starts building and kicking in it starts popping and falls on its face. i dont have a wideband on the car yet, i know its needed for tuning but just waiting on the funds. i can adjust the fuel trims with the safc and it definatly makes a difference on how it idles, but to get a smooth 800 or so idle, i am set to +10 for fuel. and i can tell its rich. again, i am new to DSM's and forced induction and tuning, so any help is much appreaciated. also there isnt a dyno tune shop within 8 hrs from where i am at.

Old 08-29-2013, 12:55 AM

timing. And timing advance.

Old 08-29-2013, 02:13 PM