Go Back   Mitsubishi Forum - Mitsubishi Enthusiast Forums > Show Time > Audio/Visual Electronics
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search

Welcome to the Mitsubishi Forum - Mitsubishi Enthusiast Forums.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 05-17-2007, 10:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Milton, ON Canada
Posts: 57
Default Do I need an amp to run Pioneer TS-D170R & TS-A741P speakers?


Hi all

I just placed anorder two pairs of Pioneer speakers

- Pioneer TS-D170R 250 watts, 60 watts nominal power handling, 4 ohms

- and Pioneer TS-A741P 250 watts, 50 watts nominal power handling, 4 ohms from Audio Video Dimension to replace my Outlander factory speakers

My question is, do I need an amplifier to run them or “just ok” with Mitsubishi Motors stereo?

If do need, what kinds of the amplifiers to require more power for peak performance?

Thanking in advance

ps: Soft rocks, pop, jazz . . . are my listening type
This ad is not displayed to registered members.
Register your free account today and become a member on MitsubishiForum!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-17-2007, 11:37 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: The south
Posts: 1,757
Default RE: Do I need an amp to run Pioneer TS-D170R & TS-A741P speakers?

Where are you mounting them?

Replacing stock units?
__________________
Neah...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-18-2007, 05:23 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Milton, ON Canada
Posts: 57
Default RE: Do I need an amp to run Pioneer TS-D170R & TS-A741P speakers?

Hi Joshewuhh,

The Pioneer TS-A741P replaces for front door factory speakers and the Pioneer TS-D170R replaces for rear door factory speakers
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-18-2007, 05:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO.
Posts: 3,430
Default RE: Do I need an amp to run Pioneer TS-D170R & TS-A741P speakers?

You'll be fine with the stock system will be fine with aftermarket speaker replacements.
If you do want more out of them, then you will have to get an aftermarket amp. You will notice a huge difference between the stock and aftermarket speakers though, so you should be fine for quite some time before the need or want for "more".
__________________
Thanks,
John
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-18-2007, 07:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 34669
Posts: 4,491
Send a message via AIM to Dusty Eclipse
Default RE: Do I need an amp to run Pioneer TS-D170R & TS-A741P speakers?

Youre gonna notice a large difference in the bass if you use the stock system and AM speakers.
__________________
Current cars:
2001 Lexus GS400
2000 Volvo V70R AWD "Moxxi"
2001 Mercedes-Benz E430
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-18-2007, 11:47 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location:
Posts: 732
Default RE: Do I need an amp to run Pioneer TS-D170R & TS-A741P speakers?

You can use the factory head unit to power the new speakers, but my personal preference is to amplify them. Aftermarket speakers sound 100x better when amplified correctly. But that's just my two cents, I like having top notch sound in my car, you'll have plenty of power and volume off of your factory unit.
__________________


MECP CEA 161312 First Class Mobile Electronics Certified Proffessional, Mobile Electronics Product Specialist, and Senior Audio Installation Technician.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-19-2007, 03:27 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Milton, ON Canada
Posts: 57
Default RE: Do I need an amp to run Pioneer TS-D170R & TS-A741P speakers?


Thanks for all replying. So, what kinds of the amp I needed for four speakers? Limited output MAX watts needed? (X 4) Let says my budget not more than $170. And I don't want subwoodfer (yet).
Is myold Alpine MRP-F200 360W 4 Channel amp good enough?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-08-2007, 01:44 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location:
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to joseph_medley Send a message via Yahoo to joseph_medley
Default RE: Do I need an amp to run Pioneer TS-D170R & TS-A741P speakers?

It will work but if youinstallthat 4 channel amp it will make betterusage of the full potental of those speakers. Alothough iwouldgo for a higher rms power from a 4 channel amp. butthats just a high schooler's opinion. lol
__________________
http://www.myspace.com/joe2213
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-08-2007, 09:42 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location:
Posts: 732
Default RE: Do I need an amp to run Pioneer TS-D170R & TS-A741P speakers?

it'll work, but if it were me, i'd try to find something with a little more kick to it, say at least 80-100watts rms. but if you're trying to keep it under $170, an amp kit and installation will pretty much eat all of that up.
__________________


MECP CEA 161312 First Class Mobile Electronics Certified Proffessional, Mobile Electronics Product Specialist, and Senior Audio Installation Technician.
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 09:42 AM
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
250, amp, good, pioneer, require, run, series, speaker, speakers, ts, tsa741p, tsd170r, watt


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15 PM.

Internet Brands, Inc.



SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.