Everything else Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue that doesnt fit into the other categories?? Ask it here!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Type I or Type II?

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2006, 11:31 PM
Default Type I or Type II?

Hello everyone. I've been a Chrysler tech for many years, and just bought a 92 2.0 Turbo Eclipse with a manual trans for my sonwithout going through old books can anyone tell me if this is a I or a II type turbo motor? Also what abreveations do you use for this drivetrain combo.? THanks

Old 03-03-2006, 12:09 AM
Default RE: Type I or Type II?

where are you geting I or II motors? If the car is a early model 92 it is a 6 bolt 4G63 later than that it is a 7 bolt 4G63 and the car is a 1G eclipse if that helps at all

Old 03-03-2006, 12:22 AM

In sorry to say Daytona's, Spirits, Type I had all cast bottom ends. Type II had some forged parts, and were obviously the more desireable. I don't claim to know a ton about these motors, but as you can quess have put a ton of headgaskets, and cam seals in them living in Wisconsin. I appreciate your help. THANKS

Old 03-03-2006, 12:34 AM

ORIGINAL: mattsride

In sorry to say Daytona's, Spirits, Type I had all cast bottom ends. Type II had some forged parts, and were obviously the more desireable. I don't claim to know a ton about these motors, but as you can quess have put a ton of headgaskets, and cam seals in them living in Wisconsin. I appreciate your help. THANKS
Iw asnt sure what Type I or II even ment. I dont think the eclipse has forged internals but I may be wrong since I have never looked into the bottom end of them or my EVO yet for that matter. some day down the road I will research it all when I is important to my needs. So there I guess im not to much help[:-]

Old 03-03-2006, 12:35 AM

I don't know or claim to know, but maybe the Mitsubishi motors didn't have these differences, and this was a Chrysler only specification. I really appreciate all the help I get! THANKS AGAIN!