Mitsubishi 3000GT During it's production run, and after, the 3000GT was a pure sports car offering forced induction and all wheel drive, as well as smooth aerodynamic styling.

3000gt vr4 smoke problem

Old 07-27-2009, 01:18 AM
Default 3000gt vr4 smoke problem

I have a 3000gt vr4 that ive been working on for a few months. the car starts up with alot of white smoke and when i take it for a spin, the car jerks back and forth on every gear above 3000 rpm. inaddition there is alot of white smoke. so i replace the air flow meter sensor, head gasket, spark plugs, gas filter, fuel injectors, spark plug wires, shave the head by machine shop, new timing belt, tensioners, and water pump. but after replacing every thing the car still smokes alot and never goes away. the smoke smeels like gas too. do you think its the ecu or fuel pump? please help me out. o yeah it doesn't overheat, just blowing alot of white smoke and jerk with an engine light.

Old 07-27-2009, 10:42 AM

what year? Any modifications to the car? Did you change the valve stem seals? How long did you run the car? Do you have the MAS unplugged? Did you check for boost leaks or a popped off intercooler hose/pipe?

Turn the car on, unplug the MAS, does the car run better or worse? Did you bother to have someone read the check engine light? You probably should have done that first, and saved yourself a **** load of money.

Does your ECS still work? Is your ECS light flashing? Unplug the ECS computer, and see if that stops the bucking and smoking.

Old 07-27-2009, 10:55 PM

turbo cartridges are bad. they are cooled by oil and coolant. white smoke indicates a engine is burning coolant. and since it increases with speed that indicates the cartidges are bad. i used to replace ALOT of those back in the day. that back bank is a really tough one to get to. take your time.

Old 07-27-2009, 11:51 PM