Mitsubishi Montero & Montero Sport This sport utility vehicle offers more size than the other Mitsubishi SUVs, but manages to keep a sporty look and comfortable feel, unlike many larger SUVs.

front rotors

Old 02-08-2006, 11:05 AM
Default front rotors

anybody know how to replace the front rotors of a '95 montero LS?
Please explain in details 'coz i'm new at this and could you pls make the terms "dumber" for my sake
thank you

Old 02-08-2006, 10:04 PM
Default RE: front rotors

Sorry, if you're asking from that level of experience, I can't in good conscience explain it to you. If you make one minor mistake, you're life is toast. My suggestion is to find a good buddy who knows how to do it and ask them to show you how so you'll know the next time around. BTW, are you sure you have to replace the rotors or just the brake pads?

Old 02-09-2006, 10:43 AM

I have changed the brake pads before but i'm having trouble getting the rotors out.
do i have to unscrew the philips screws to get the rotors out? i know that i need new rotors
because there are visible scratches (like the old playing records).
And thanks for your reply.

Old 02-10-2006, 02:30 PM

Its very easy after you know the one trick. If you have done the brakes thats the hardest part. To get the rotor off wipe the grease from the middle of the hub. You will see what looks like a "washer" clip with a hole in it. I learned the hard way by prying at the rotor and it just would not budge and eventually broke my ABS sensor. Anyway just stick a very small screw driver in the hole and trun it counter clockwise. This will unscrew the washer and the rotor pulls right off. I believe thats how it worked. Its been a while since I did mine.

Old 02-10-2006, 04:02 PM