Mitsubishi Montero & Montero Sport This sport utility vehicle offers more size than the other Mitsubishi SUVs, but manages to keep a sporty look and comfortable feel, unlike many larger SUVs.

Vendors Reference Requested

Search this Thread

Old 09-02-2007, 12:59 AM
Default Vendors Reference Requested

Aloha, I'm new to the world of SUVs in general and Mitsubishis specifically. All my previous cars were either fast imports or fast domestics cars. Due to certain situations in my life, I'm now 'stuck' with a 2002 Mitsubishi Montero Sport as a 'company car' to do Sam's Club runs for our shop locations, but I've been given permission by my boss to go ahead and personalize it if desired. It's a 2WD vehicle with what appears to be a 3.0 V6. I'm still learning about the truck.

What I would like to know is:

1) What other cars/trucks does the '02 Montero Sport share it's 3.0 V6 engine with. I'm looking for performance upgrade options. Same thing with the automatic transmission and rear axle.

2) Who do you recommend for aftermarket performance upgrades for the truck's suspension, engine and drivetrain? I'm looking for more low end torque for better acceleration from stop, but as it's a company vehicle I dont want to go too deep into the engine. I'm thinking K&N cold air intake, MSD ignition, and see if there's a true dual exhaust available for this thing that wont upset the OBD2 computer. I'm guessing that there's not much else, right? I'm also looking specifically for any transmission kits out for improving shifts and durability and is there such thing as a posi (preferably a gear-type) for the rear axle like true-trac?