Mitsubishi Outlander The new crossover from Mitsubishi, mixing the usefulness of an SUV with the size and convenience of a sport wagon.

engine blown

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2017, 01:06 PM
Default engine blown

I have a 2007 outlander fwd with the 3l. this week the water pump died and caused the timing belt to skip a few teeth which in turn damaged the engine.
Verdict-gotta come out...
Has anyone ever done this engine replacement? no way I am paying 20 hours labour to get this done. I am an aircraft mechanic so from a competence standpoint there is no problems, just wondering how involved a job it is. I havent bought a manual yet but is there room to pull it out of the hood or it needs to come out the bottom?

I have source several engines between 400 and 700$ so that's no a problem.
On another note....
outlander muffler 1000$
Transmission cooler-950$
exhaust mid pipe-2200$
gently used low km engine-450$....

Lol this company makes no sense!

Old 02-25-2017, 04:01 PM

I'll pm you the service manual later today.

Old 02-25-2017, 04:10 PM

Every time I look at the SM, I see the divots in the pistons where the valves would go, and thought the engine was non-interference. Early on, we had a guy or two state that they knew mechanics who worked on these who said people would break a belt on the highway and be fine.

If you could pull the heads off (once your swap is done) to see the carnage.

I don't know which way the engine comes out. I would think that there should be plenty of room out the top once the radiator is out and all misc accessories. I'm no mechanic, but I've done timing belt and plugs on this bitch once. Very close to doing it again.

Old 02-26-2017, 10:52 AM

Originally Posted by ccernst
I'm no mechanic, but I've done timing belt and plugs on this bitch once. Very close to doing it again.