Mitsubishi Forum - Mitsubishi Enthusiast Forums

Mitsubishi Forum - Mitsubishi Enthusiast Forums (https://mitsubishiforum.com/forum/)
-   1st Generation (https://mitsubishiforum.com/forum/1st-generation-62/)
-   -   Stage 0 for my 94 1.8L (https://mitsubishiforum.com/forum/1st-generation-62/stage-0-my-94-1-8l-32943/)

Freq 06-21-2009 03:51 PM

Stage 0 for my 94 1.8L

Hey guys. I'm new to the Mitsu scene. Never even driven one until I test drove my new Eclipse. The previous owner thought he was a street racing legend, judging by the skull and pirate stickers, "carbon fibre" shift knob, etc. but obviously knew nothing about cars. I changed the oil yesterday and it was just disgusting.

I pulled out the spark plugs today and they had thick coats of silver and white carbon buildup and each lead was gapped differently. My question is what is the best spark plug for stage 0? I'm thinking $2 NGK plugs since that's what seems to be the best for all the cars I've owned so far. Are Eclipses different?

What problematic areas are there that I should keep an eye out for? Next week (when I have money) I want to check the tranny fluid, axel fluid, etc. Belts and hoses are on my list, as well as a new exhaust and air filter.

http://i40.tinypic.com/15duqzq.jpg

http://i41.tinypic.com/evcajm.jpg

BrokeDad 06-21-2009 05:05 PM

Welcome. NGK are just fine. From what you've said I'd change every fluid and filter in the thing and then park it over a clean white cloth and see if anything ends up on it. It looks like you've got a good setup and have experience fixing things up from you pictures. (Three door garage and a Fiero waiting to be gone over too?)

Freq 06-21-2009 05:18 PM

That's my house mate's MR2. We both got new cars the other day. I got a 94 Eclipse and he got an 85 MR2. Both fun little cars. My 85 Volvo 740 is still my baby, and his 02 Mustang GT his is.