2nd Generation This includes all Eclipses, and Talons built from 1995-1999

1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse GS

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2009, 08:38 PM
Exclamation 1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse GS

I'm looking at buying a 1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse GS with 130,000 miles on it. What kind of problems have you guys experienced with Eclipses with that kind of mileage? I'm worried the tranny will go soon, etc. But I wanted to know how long yours all lasted. I'm looking to purchase it for 3000 (also has cold air intake, neon, tint, rims) so how expensive would it be to have the tranny and/or engine rebuilt? I know I'm new at all this, just trying to ask you guys cuz i figure you all are experts on it. ANY HELP would be appreciated!! thankss

Old 03-31-2009, 09:44 PM

Don't buy it for 3Grand with a bad tranny with 130,000 miles! I might buy it for 2 grand tops. Mods don't add value unless they are done to the engine, and even then unless you have $10,000 tied up in engine, tranny and suspension work, it wont raise the value of a car up a whole lot. To get a tranny rebuilt will cost you 1,000-1500.

Old 03-31-2009, 09:50 PM

I don't know for sure that it has a bad tranny or anything. I was asking you guys if you thought at 130k miles it would have problems like that. It's supposedly almost all highway miles.. if that makes a difference?

Old 03-31-2009, 10:29 PM

Automatic or manual?
If automatic then you should be fine. If manual then it would depend on how the previous owner drove. Too much clutch or grinding the gears etc. can ruin it pretty quick. The engine is a 420a. Not a very good platform for upgrading. (Cost a lot to get just a little bit of power)