Mitsubishi Forum - Mitsubishi Enthusiast Forums

Mitsubishi Forum - Mitsubishi Enthusiast Forums (https://mitsubishiforum.com/forum/)
-   2nd Generation (https://mitsubishiforum.com/forum/2nd-generation-63/)
-   -   2G GST Mods (https://mitsubishiforum.com/forum/2nd-generation-63/2g-gst-mods-33662/)

ryan97gs 09-02-2009 02:57 PM

2G GST Mods

im looking to open up my gst a little bit but ive never had really any experience with turbos, i was looking at a apexi N1 cat back back, a megan racing hi flow cat, and apexi N1 downpipe, i was kinda curious(and this may come off not sounding right or may sound stupid) about a new manifold, what all is required when installing one, what would be the best one to buy and are you supposed to upgrade the turbo, like i said im a little new to turbos so any help/ideas/suggestions would be greatly appreciated

tjbiker031 09-03-2009 07:40 AM

http://www.roadraceengineering.com/2gupgradepath.htm

In regaurds to your manifold question...the stock manifolds work great up to 400hp i believe. i would just port the manifold

jdmallwheelclipse 09-20-2009 11:47 PM

how hard is it to put a 6 bolt swap in ?

TheEngineer 09-21-2009 07:13 AM

http://www.magnusmotorsports.com/tech/1gina2g.pdf

not something that you really need to do however. I only reccomend thinking about it if your engine is toast and you need a new one, other than that, stick with the stock motor.

To the OP, Stick with just a downpipe and exhaust for now. Dont worry about the manifold until you want to be swapping the turbo (which requires alot more addons than one may think, please do some reasearch on this) and also you may want to look into a boost controller and boost gauge to get alittle more out of that car.

ryan97gs 09-22-2009 09:06 AM