2nd Generation This includes all Eclipses, and Talons built from 1995-1999

Storage Advice

Search this Thread

Old 11-27-2006, 12:40 AM
Default Storage Advice

Just wondering what good practices should be taken when storing your car. I would assume dissconnecting the battery. Fresh oil change and filter. Maybe fill up the gas tank. Or can i just leave it half empty or something. Or will that allow water to collect inside and create rust. Just that i heard gas itself breaks down if it is left sitting. True or not i do not know. Should the car be on jack stand so the tire dont get flat spots?. Just some feed back since its my first time storing a car.

Old 11-27-2006, 12:47 AM
Default RE: Storage Advice

One good thing to do is put Sta-bil into the gas tank, because the fuel will break down or create condensation in the tank. It does the same as the fuel preservative used in 2 stroke oil/fuel mixed mower/wead eater motors, but for you car. They can be found just about anywhere.
I wouldn't put my car on jackstands either, that's a lot of weight on something that isn't made to hold it alone. There is a way or technique to storing wheels if they are not on the car.

Old 11-27-2006, 01:02 AM

LOL okay. say if you were to store your car how would you preserve ur tires. Would u just put on old used tires instead. Thanks for the input.

Old 11-27-2006, 01:12 AM

I don't store my car, so wouldn't know, lol. I never understood storing a car or wheels for the winter. To me it's a good reason to "refresh" the look of the wheels, lol. Through thick and thin is my motto with my car, lol.
Anyway, to preserve the tires? Put the stock ones back on the car and carefully stack the wheels you want preserved. Someone chime in on the stacking part. I don't think you store them with the wheels on the rubber but laying flat on each other, again, someone chime in

Old 11-27-2006, 01:51 AM
Super Moderator