Mitsubishi Forum - Mitsubishi Enthusiast Forums

Mitsubishi Forum - Mitsubishi Enthusiast Forums (https://mitsubishiforum.com/forum/)
-   Intake, Headers and Exhaust (https://mitsubishiforum.com/forum/intake-headers-exhaust-23/)
-   -   Wat are...? (https://mitsubishiforum.com/forum/intake-headers-exhaust-23/wat-37691/)

SoCal19 11-23-2010 06:10 PM

Wat are...?

Intakes n headers? Sry im new to car things but i wana learn. So any help is greatly appreciated! :)

StallionProject86 11-24-2010 08:59 PM

Okay a quick 101. A cars intake brings in air to feed the motor. A motor needs air, fuel, and combustion to strive. The more air that can be pushed through the better so an upgraded intake is a nice start to free up some restriction. Same with headers, aftermarket are usually larger than stock which in return helps the engine release exhaust quicker and more efficiently which means more power because your letting your car "breathe" more freely. Hope that helps ya out a bit. (:
If not just text mee and I'll try to explain in a little more detail. Ahah.

KaiserEclipse 11-30-2010 12:30 PM

Great post, remember aftermarket is your friend, usually* cheaper than OEM, and welcome to the automotive world, be sure to ask anything and everything your curious about, but dont forget to use the search function, most the time you can find answers to your questions.

Twoky 12-19-2010 12:16 PM

depending on what car you have new headers is not always nessesary. some times a good cat back exhaust is all you need. As for intakes i like k&n and injen myself i have a k&n cold air intake on my 03 eclipse and im getting a magnaflow cat back exhaust. that is about all the pressure and pressure relief i need.

Colt-Speed Ca 01-03-2011 10:11 PM

Intakes and headers

Originally Posted by SoCal19 (Post 265957)
Intakes n headers? Sry im new to car things but i wana learn. So any help is greatly appreciated! :)

Great posts, Stallion and Kaiser!