Mitsubishi Diamante For the faithful Mitsubishi owner, this car offers high end luxury without high end luxury pricing.

Advice Sought

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2008, 12:28 PM
Default Advice Sought

Hi Folks,

I have been driving a Mazda 929 for 20 years. It is reaching the end of its useful life and I am considering a Diamante as a replacement.

Some general questions regarding years from say about 2001 to 2004:

How reliable are these cars when cared for properly?
What areas of concern should I look for?
Does it use a timing belt? Change interval?
Highway 70~75 mph, what kind of MPG can I expect?
Fuel type required?
Interior quality, how well do the bits hold together?

Working on them. If a timing belt, how difficult to change?
Overall availability of parts and service manuals?

I'm pretty adept mechanically, currently changing the heads on my 929 so general maintenance doesn't scare me much.

Overall, I like the looks of the car and from a 929 standpoint it is about the same size and probably comfortable too. I drive 100 miles a day so comfort is appreciated. The 929 isRWD, not so great in the winter so the Mitsu would improve on that too.

Thanks for any and all advice and tips.

Old 11-17-2008, 04:24 PM
Default RE: Advice Sought

I own a 02" Diamante LS

I would love to share my opinions and knowledge of my 02" Diamante.