Mitsubishi Forum - Mitsubishi Enthusiast Forums

Mitsubishi Forum - Mitsubishi Enthusiast Forums (https://mitsubishiforum.com/forum/)
-   Mitsubishi Galant (https://mitsubishiforum.com/forum/mitsubishi-galant-13/)
-   -   Intake Question (https://mitsubishiforum.com/forum/mitsubishi-galant-13/intake-question-5000/)

shiznit013 07-21-2005 02:35 AM

Intake Question

I'm a complete noob, so I apologize in advance if this question is stupid. I'm looking for an intake for my 2003 Galant GTZ (3.0L V6). After a couple of hours of searching, I can't find any "approved" intake for my car. The closest I could come up with was the Injen RS1869. Has anyone had any experience with this intake? Did it work out of the box, or need some modifications? Also, what is different about an intake that makes it ideal for mid-range or top end power? For the money, does anyone think the heat shield is worth it?

Thanks.

Prophet 07-21-2005 04:04 AM

RE: Intake Question

If you mean "approved" as in CARB Exempt the only manufacter would be the Injen Shortrams. No one else made a CARB exempt specifit for our cars. Now your on the right track where the 3G Eclipse (2000-2005) share the same engine as the 8G Galant (1999-2003). In your case the engine code is 6G72 for both cars. You might get away with a CHP doing a quick look and you don't get sent to a ref when they see that CARB sticker. But a ref. can look up a CARB number and see that intake was made for the 3G Eclipse and they you will get busted.

Fitment is just fine. Nothing needs to be modified to fit the Galant.

IMO the heat shield is worth it.

shiznit013 07-26-2005 12:08 AM

By approved I meant designed to fit my car. I'm not too concerned about CHiPs in Maryland... although I do hear Erik Estrada gets around. Thanks for the quick response. I was wondering why nobody responded yet, and then I checked my junk mail... apparently Hotmail thinks all distribution lists are SPAM.

Prophet 07-26-2005 12:36 AM

Not a problem...