Mitsubishi Outlander The new crossover from Mitsubishi, mixing the usefulness of an SUV with the size and convenience of a sport wagon.

Towing a Travel Trailer with a Outi...

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2012, 09:15 AM
Default re; air bags for 2007 outlander

I took your advice and just ordered the air bags. I will be towing a 3500 lb boat and hope this will help. do I need any special tools or advice to install these myself. I am not a mechanic but am pretty good with car repairs. done much myself especially brakes. how does this job compare?

Old 03-09-2015, 08:16 PM

Originally Posted by jangledang
My outtie has had the pleasure of towing a few things so far. On the lighter end, it's towed 600-700 pounds in snowmobiles. With this light load, I really didn't notice much of an effect on the Outlander's performance (v6 and I've got the factory set up and so far have been pleased with it.), even in snowy conditions. As far as the heavy stuff goes, I've towed a boat of about 3500-4000 pounds. Power's been good getting up the ramp, but the driving dynamics are obviously affected by the added weight. The rear suspension especially seems to dip under the added weight. Nevertheless, the Outlander is more than capable of towing up to the limit.
X2
Great expériences

Old 03-09-2015, 08:20 PM

Originally Posted by tcp
The actual weight of the trailer is fine. A couple of thoughts to consider:

-tongue weight: unless you've weighed the tongue to be 310lbs, it'll probably be significantly higher when actually loaded up with battery, water, AC unit and supplies. Published tongue weight is given without those items. The rear springs on the outlander are particularly soft and you'll be dragging the rear end with that weight on there. I would add airbags inside the rear springs and also a weigh distributing hitch. You want to spread the weight to both axles of the outie.