Mitsubishi Montero & Montero Sport This sport utility vehicle offers more size than the other Mitsubishi SUVs, but manages to keep a sporty look and comfortable feel, unlike many larger SUVs.

2001 SRS vibration problem

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2016, 08:54 AM
Default 2001 SRS vibration problem

All of a sudden, my Montero started a strange vibration. It occurs randomly for a few seconds, then stops when I let off the gas. The best way to describe it is it's like I drive over the wake up strips along the interstate. Then my ABS Brake light came on and has not gone off. I regularly drive 200 miles to Michigan. I'm a disabled vet and can't afford the $70 at the shop JUST to diagnose and then whatever repairs. Would appreciate anyone's input. Also, it doesn't seem to happen at high speeds, although it could and I just not notice bc all of the road construction on the interstate is horrendous. lol

Old 06-20-2016, 06:41 PM

Its possible that hydraulic brake booster accumulator had failed. That would produce the rumble strip type of a sound, especially when you press brake pedal. The ABS light being ON would point in that direction too. I believe that booster motor would cycle by itself while driving trying to maintain the pressure and that accounts for the sound without pressing the brake pedal.

Old 06-21-2016, 12:41 PM

My 2003 had a vibration and clacking/tapping at certain speeds like you describe. It was obviously motor related because I could just tell it wasn't suspension or wheels. It was the butterflies in the upper intake plenum. On mine they were installed with screws...really dumb-butt feature. They should be welded or one piece. Tiny screws started coming out and the little half-moon shaped plates began rattling at certain times. As soon as I let off gas it would stop pretty quick and then start again randomly on throttle. My motor ingested one of the small screws and I guess blew it into the catalytic converter. I never found it.