1st Generation This includes all Eclipses, Talons, and Lasers built from 1990-1994.

tune?

  #1  
Old 11-16-2009, 03:33 PM
Jarreddl's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 183
Default tune?

so i bought this car from a friend and im almost positive that there is nothing mechanically wrong with it. all it needs is a tune since it has bigger cams and injectors in it and so on. how do i go about doin this or getting this done? i know about dsmlink but if i do it myself im scared to mess something up.
thanks

list of everything in it:

DNP Tubular Manifold
Bullseye T04B 60 Turbo
2nd Gen Maf Setup
Turbo Back Exhaust
Front Mount Intercooler
Greddy Type S Blowoff Valve
Walboro 255 Fuel Pump
Injector Clinic 750 cc (injector)
Aeromotive Fuel Pressure Regulator
Innovative Motorsprots Wideband w/Gauge
Apexi AFC NEO
90 Big Rods
ACL Pistons
ARP Head Studs
Balance Shaft Removed
New Showdown Motorsports Head
New Brian Crower 272 Cams
New Head Gasket
New timing belt
Fluidamper Harmonic Balancer
New water pump
Fresh plugs and wires
 
  #2  
Old 11-16-2009, 05:02 PM
dsm1990gsx's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pottstown, Pa
Posts: 4,681
Default

I know dsmlink is very user friendly, I use other stuff to tune w/ b/c I'm poor.
 
  #3  
Old 11-16-2009, 05:38 PM
Jarreddl's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 183
Default

so you dont think i bought a dsm link and tuned it myself i wouldnt really mess anything up? im not planning on tuning it to max performance or anything.
 
  #4  
Old 11-16-2009, 05:41 PM
dsm1990gsx's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pottstown, Pa
Posts: 4,681
Default

You'll be fine. You could always get an eprom ecu send it out and have it chipped to your mods.
 
  #5  
Old 11-16-2009, 06:04 PM
Jarreddl's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 183
Default

how would i go about doin that? what exactly would i have to do for that anyways?
 
  #6  
Old 11-16-2009, 06:10 PM
dsm1990gsx's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pottstown, Pa
Posts: 4,681
  #7  
Old 11-16-2009, 06:54 PM
Jarreddl's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 183
Default

ughh idk what all that means....like the 1G ECMLink v3 Package with ECU
1G DSM or the 1G ECMLink v3 Package with Non-EPROM Conversion
1G DSM. which one would i need?
 
  #8  
Old 11-16-2009, 07:01 PM
dsm1990gsx's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pottstown, Pa
Posts: 4,681
Default

Do you have an eprom ecu?
 
  #9  
Old 11-16-2009, 07:06 PM
Jarreddl's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 183
Default

idk im pretty sure its stock. i dont know what eprom is...
 
  #10  
Old 11-16-2009, 07:14 PM
dsm1990gsx's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pottstown, Pa
Posts: 4,681
Default

Some 1g ecu's came w/ eprom chips from the factory. The only way to find out is to remove the ecu and pop the cover off and look for the chip.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: tune?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.