2nd Generation This includes all Eclipses, and Talons built from 1995-1999

2nd gen. Eclipse (Spyder) reliability?

Search this Thread

Old 10-28-2005, 08:25 AM
Default 2nd gen. Eclipse (Spyder) reliability?

Hi, I'm an Eclipse newb.

I'm thinking of buying a 98 Eclipse Spyder, GS, GST or GT. I am leaning toward a GS.
I have no plans on boosting its performance. I will leave everything stock as well. I have a few to choose from, all around the 70,000 mile range. I am hoping this will be a fun and reliable convertible.

I've searched this forum for a couple of hours and am still unsure.

So please let me know... is this car reliable if I look after its basic maintenance (ie: oil change, checkups, etc.), or are there problem areas to be watching out for?

Old 10-28-2005, 09:51 AM
Default RE: 2nd gen. Eclipse (Spyder) reliability?

They dont make a spyder gt in the 2g's, there is only a gs, and a gst. If you want something reliable get the gs, its a non turbo 4cyl and the chances of it being beat on are slim to non.

Old 10-28-2005, 10:58 AM

ORIGINAL: slow420a

They dont make a spyder gt in the 2g's, there is only a gs, and a gst. If you want something reliable get the gs, its a non turbo 4cyl and the chances of it being beat on are slim to non.
agreed. a spyder GS would work great for you.

Old 10-28-2005, 12:07 PM