2nd Generation This includes all Eclipses, and Talons built from 1995-1999

IM a NOOB! Questions??

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2005, 05:50 PM
Default IM a NOOB! Questions??

okay so i dont know much about mitsubishi's/gsx's so im trying to get an idea of what can be done to them... im a honda/acura guy and i just want to learn more about other cars... ok so heres a car im thinking about getting cuz i dont feel like swaping my civic...

1995 Mitsubishi Eclipse GSX 5-SPD
here are the mods,

6bolt swap (is that good?)
Evo 3 16g ( somthing to do with no shaft play)
2600 clutch (is that a good clutch for an awd car?)
lighten flywheel (always cool to have)
K&N air filter (woot woot!)
arpheadstuds
evo3 head gasket
no balance shafts( i guess that spose to make your engine last longer? is that true?)
upper hard pipe with 1g bov (whats a hard pipe? and does it make hp?)
3 inch straight pipe with no cat or muffler
blitz turbo timer
defi boostgage
trunck mount battery
halman boost controller (reliable?)
New used tranny(good condition) with 55k- SHIFTS SMOOTH & GREAT, NO GRINDS
Rear lsd(rare for dsm)is that true?

what can you put the boost up to with out risking to break somthing? he said it runs around a 13.1-13.2 does that sound about right? what rpm can you launch this car at without risking a broken axle? what kind of upgrades do you have to do to launch at high R's? silly question but can u make these awd gsx's JUST rear wheel drive? thanks you guys so much sorry if these questions are pointless. thanks for your time

Old 06-25-2005, 07:34 PM
Default RE: IM a NOOB! Questions??

Well it should be running a bit faster than 13.1 unless its on low boost?

6 Bolt swap is very good the stock 7 bolt is unrealiable at high power
The boost controller is fine no problem
The clutch is perfect for AWD maybe a lil tough to drive daily
The hard pipe is the pipe going from the Intercooler to the throttle good to have yes a little more power