2nd Generation This includes all Eclipses, and Talons built from 1995-1999

just bought a 96 eclipse gs-t,i need help!!!

Search this Thread

Old 09-07-2006, 01:02 AM
Default just bought a 96 eclipse gs-t,i need help!!!

Im new to mitsubishis and i just bought a 96 eclipse gs-t,i needed a car asap,because i crashed my car,and the car was only 1300$,the car is in good condition cosmetically,the car already comes with a greddy type-s blowout valve,k&n intake,tokico shocks and springs,its manual,and the engine only has 83,000 miles on it,but the engine is blown,there was a bent rod which hit the block and cracked it,whats the best thing i should do?!Also one more the car still has the stock intercooler,i wanna replace it with an aftermarket intercooler maybe like a greddy,do i need to make any adjustment for that??

Old 09-07-2006, 01:55 AM
Default RE: just bought a 96 eclipse gs-t,i need help!!!

For the FMIC, yes you do need to do a couple adjustments. You definitely want a bigger turbo first (with supporting mods). You will lose power with a FMIC and the stock turbo. I am not too sure about the Big SMIC, that might help.... not too sure on those. Once you get the FMIC you will need to do a couple adjustments too. Like bumper trimming, smaller fan, etc.

Now that you got this car. You might want to think about a full tune up. Maybe even get the timing belt replaced, etc. Make sure its in tip top condition before doing any performance.

Oh yeah, the engine is blown... get it rebuilt. Maybe even port and polish the heads.

Old 09-07-2006, 04:16 PM