2nd Generation This includes all Eclipses, and Talons built from 1995-1999

manny tranny Q? and clutch Q?

Search this Thread

Old 12-14-2006, 09:14 PM
Default manny tranny Q? and clutch Q?

i am new to manny trannys! ok when i change the fluid on my tranny does it take any specific tranny fluid or any additives! when i changed the fluid on my buddies SRT-4 he needed some special additive and it took regular atf+4 fluid "just a syn fluid".

also when i do my clutch swap is ther eny thing else i should get or replace while i am in there, my clutch masters comes with the throw out berring, and i cant afford a fly wheel right now but eny mechanical things i should replace!

thanks
Bud

Old 12-14-2006, 09:18 PM
Banned
Default RE: manny tranny Q? and clutch Q?

Not sure about the tranny fluid but as for the clutch... no you should be fine with everythin in the kit.

Old 12-14-2006, 09:57 PM

ORIGINAL: bud660r

i am new to manny trannys! ok when i change the fluid on my tranny does it take any specific tranny fluid or any additives! when i changed the fluid on my buddies SRT-4 he needed some special additive and it took regular atf+4 fluid "just a syn fluid".

also when i do my clutch swap is ther eny thing else i should get or replace while i am in there, my clutch masters comes with the throw out berring, and i cant afford a fly wheel right now but eny mechanical things i should replace!

thanks
Bud
One thing to note is that if the throw out bearing that's included with that new clutch is all metal, don't use it. Many DSM'ers swear by the stock throw out bearings. Just imagine metal on metal. The throw out bearing also doesn't have a minimum/maximum torque or horsepower, so it's mainly about friction.