2nd Generation This includes all Eclipses, and Talons built from 1995-1999

New Eclipse Owner

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2006, 11:24 PM
Default New Eclipse Owner

Hi All,

Long story short as possible, I'm in canada, and in my province there is only 1 mitsu dealership, therefore, leaving me with a lack of options. I walked into the place, and the sales people got typical and assumed since I am a girl, i'm stupid. I'll admit, I don't know EVERYTHING about the eclipse, but I know a fair bit. I'm still learning about the mechanics. Anyways, i wanted to buy used because new is about 8 grand more.

The black 2006 eclipse GS model they had on the lot, has 17398 miles (28,000kms in canada), has the sun and sound package, appears clean. It had a cracked front bumper and some scratches on the hood. The carfax report came back clean with no accident reported and the sales guy "figures" it was done on the transport truck as they brought it up from texas. It was also previously used as a "fleet" vehicle. It's an american car that's never seen our winters. The car wouldn't start when they tried to show it to me, they claim because it didn't have a block heater and wasn't plugged in since it's been sitting there for a few days, and it's been really cold. asking price $24980 canadian + taxes. They claim they're going to replace the whole bumper, and possibly the hood depending on damages found. They're also adding in the block heater, safetying it to canadian standards, putting in command start and alarm. I offered sticker price because they would not budge on it (and because they have no competition here), they accepted the deal and i made it subject to test drive when the repairs are done. I can still back out but i really want this car. Its hard to find a used one here. I'll be taking it to a different mechanic on my test drive to have them inspect it as well before i sign anything.