2nd Generation This includes all Eclipses, and Talons built from 1995-1999

Stereo head unit help

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2008, 10:24 PM
Default Stereo head unit help

Hey everyone... I'm a newbie to this forum... so I will thank in advance anybody that is able to help me - THANK YOU!!!

I have a 97 Eclipse GST spyder - stock. I just bought a Jensen VM9512 (which is a single din retractable 7" dvd screen head unit) and a scosche install kit for 95 and Up eclipse's... I was told this would fit my new VM9512 head unit.

which brings me to the help i'm looking for - I am wondering if there are some step by step instructions on how to take out both the stock infinity head unit and the infnity amp that's under my passenger seat. I have the NAV101 thing to install under the seat and the head unit is pretty powerful... so no external amp is necessary.

And also on how to install my new head unit... I searched to see if I could find someone else with a similar question.... but was unsuccessful. Any help would be great. Thanks in advance, Shaun.

Old 04-07-2008, 10:30 PM
Default RE: Stereo head unit help

Welcome abroad... its fairly easy you may have to take the console and the lil cover around the hvac for this...
The hvac one has clips around it, so carefully pry it out... youll see a lot of bolts that hold the shifter console to it... to completely remove the console there are bolts under the ashtrays and on the sides of the console... if youre skilled you wont need to take the whole thing out =) about the amp.... i dunno, ive never had the amp version of the eclipse hehe

Old 04-07-2008, 10:55 PM

its easy. i would just rip out both and rewire new wire to the speakers, i think you'll get better sound that way.