Everything else Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue that doesnt fit into the other categories?? Ask it here!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Diagnosis 101

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2005, 10:00 PM
pc
Default Diagnosis 101

I'd like to start a discussion on doing simple troubleshooting. A lot of the posts here are from people who have no engine knowledge and no simple testing tools. The frustration by both the person in trouble and the person trying to help is from a lack of specific knowledge and information which will help point to a proper direction of the trouble. I have basic experience and knowledge that usually helps me go in the right direction for my own problems. I also have some basic test tools and will need to acquire a few more for OBDII and computer systems as well as fuel injectors. But I don't want to buy expensive, use once, testers, so I am very careful what I buy. Of course the first thing I buy is a factory manual for my vehicle. The initial cost of a couple of hundred $$ gets paid back over and over again, especially since I keep my vehicles for a long time. I also maintain my vehicles on a regular basis and keep a maintenance log so I don't run into many problems.
I think with input from a lot of people we can develop a good troubleshooting method that will enable more people to get their problem solved. We can also come up with a check list that will help eliminate simple problems and give the people trying to help some information to work with.
Here are two links that perform simple tests to enable the car owner narrow down where the problem is. This isn't the only way to do this but gives an idea of the method.
http://www.diynetwork.com/diy/ab_aut...276264,00.html
http://www.diynetwork.com/diy/ab_aut...276265,00.html