Intake, Headers and Exhaust Custom Exhaust? New Headers? Need Opinions on Intakes? Discuss making your ride breathe better here.

03 OZ Exhaust

Search this Thread

Old 06-02-2006, 02:09 AM
Default 03 OZ Exhaust

I am new to the 4 cyl world and want an exhaust that is DEEP and does not sound like (don't hate ) Rice. I come from a Camaro Z28 with a 350 V8 so that sounded so good and deep. I know I am not going to get the same thing from a 2.0 4 cyl. but my friend has an 04 STI with the Cobb exhaust and it sounds great, but Cobb is not for Lancers. What would be the closest to that or could I fabricate the Cobb to fit my Lancer? If not, what else would be very deep and sound great, again, not like rice.

Old 06-02-2006, 02:14 PM
Super Moderator
Default RE: 03 OZ Exhaust

Well there is also a very big difference from the lancer to the sti, he has the turbo so it will sound better. You'll can really only get as good of a sound as the engine will give. But for a deep sound i have heard that magnaflow has a nice tone

Old 06-02-2006, 02:31 PM

the STi is a flat 4 and the OZ is a I4 that alone even if both were NA is enough to make it IMPOSSIBLE to sound alike.

Flat motors sound like more of a helicopter. and since your talking a NA lancer id be willing to render a guess it will not sound as good as you hope. Look at NA eclipse sound clips if you dont like the sound of a NA GS eclipse you wont like your cars either

Old 06-08-2006, 08:03 PM

Okay, well I have plans to turbo it, but that won't be for quite sometime... and thanks for that info, I shall check out some GS clips.

Old 06-08-2006, 11:15 PM

i have a 04 oz rally and i wanted to know the same thing.. but i think im going to go with jus ta muffler to make the car sound lauder.. some people are teling me to go with the boral or magnaflow b.c im looking for a deep tone? would that be a good pick?

Old 06-10-2006, 12:32 PM