Mitsubishi Evolution For eight generations now, the Evolution has been the leading name in AWD performance, both on the road, and off.

Driving Suggestions for The strip

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2007, 07:50 PM
Default Driving Suggestions for The strip

So In a couple months the drag strip is gonna be opening up again and Im gonna go opening day, so any suggestion on launch, shift point, tire pressure...etc I dont wanna look like a total *** when I get out there. Hopefully when I go i'll have my tbe, fuel pump and tune by then but if not no big deal. Any suggestions will be helpful.

Old 02-22-2007, 11:04 PM
Default RE: Driving Suggestions for The strip

There are alot of things that go into it. I am a novice myself and I intend on trying to get in as many runs as possible this summer at NED also. A couple of things come to mind, are you running stock wheels w/ stock Advans? I had heard that 22 psi was good on those, I cant confirm that tho. Do you have a launch control ( also called 2 step) set up? If you do, just hold the throttle to the floor and it will build boost as it revs. The comes the tricky part. If you just side step off the clutch, you'll be spending some serious cash on tranny/transfer case and possibly other drive train parts in short order. So, again from what I've been told, you need to get the clutch grabbing and the car rolling and then let off it ( the clutch) totally. This will lessen the shock on the drive train. To me, that is the most difficult part to master.
Again, I am by NO MEANS a expert. I'm just sharing with you the info I got when I asked those very same questions. I believe that practice is the biggest thing.