Mitsubishi Montero & Montero Sport This sport utility vehicle offers more size than the other Mitsubishi SUVs, but manages to keep a sporty look and comfortable feel, unlike many larger SUVs.

2000 Montero Sport valve cover Gasget

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2011, 11:06 AM
Default 2000 Montero Sport valve cover Gasget

Hi guys,

I just got my car and i'm Broke :P >

I did get the manual for the car - an online one though ... didnt really think it was amazingly useful, maybe its me, or the version i have !!!

Anyways, i have no experience at all in cars, nor do i have any tools, was wondering whether any1 can at least show me where the valve cover gasgets are...

how difficult is it to change it ... i looked under the hood and if i'm not mistaken i thought that there were piles of stuff over it ... i actually thought that there are motor parts over it ! i'm confused ...

Is there any1 that can help this amature start working on it ...

I can Post pictures for it ...
The pic i attached is just one from e-bay to let you know what im talking about ...

I'd really appreciate any help . No videos on youtube for montero's ...

Attached Thumbnails 2000 Montero Sport valve cover Gasget-111.jpg  
Old 05-08-2011, 02:30 PM

Hi:

Why do you think it needs valve cover gaskets?

Most oil leak problems on that engine are due to things called rear cam plug o-rings or seals going bad. If the oil seems to be coming from the rear of the engine and drippig down on the exhaust pipes this may be your problem. It
s very common and fairly easy and cheap to fix - although you will need to get a few tools and read up on it in this forum - use the Search function for "rear cam seals" or o-rings.

On the other hand if you really do need valve cover gaskets (what are your symptoms?) that's a much bigger project and honestly not something you would want to attempt yourself based on your statements.

Ron

Old 05-08-2011, 07:05 PM

Welcome to the forums....