Mitsubishi Montero & Montero Sport This sport utility vehicle offers more size than the other Mitsubishi SUVs, but manages to keep a sporty look and comfortable feel, unlike many larger SUVs.

2001 3.5L Montero Sport Automatic transmission problem

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2014, 03:08 PM
Default 2001 3.5L Montero Sport Automatic transmission problem

Newbie to both this site and to Montero. It's my daughter's Monty (She calls it Missy). She bought Missy last week. The alternator wasn't working, so we spent some dad and daughter time teaching her how to troubleshoot the charging system ( I was an armor mechanic in the Army years ago). After replacing the alternator, we had the low idle problem, which we found the relearn solution here. During the test run, the truck would shift from second to third, and third into drive with an increase in engine RPM as it shifts, then the RPM would drop as it engages into gear with a clunk. Does the truck have to relearn how to shift like it has to relearn how to idle? Is there something we need to do to correct this issue? If so, what?

Many thanks in advance!

Old 07-07-2014, 02:00 PM

Is there ANYONE who knows about transmissions and this sort of problem in this site???

Old 07-08-2014, 01:50 PM