Mitsubishi Montero & Montero Sport This sport utility vehicle offers more size than the other Mitsubishi SUVs, but manages to keep a sporty look and comfortable feel, unlike many larger SUVs.

Anyone Else have this Slow Leak??

Old 10-29-2005, 04:53 PM
Default Anyone Else have this Slow Leak??

[size=2]Hi
I hope this isn't something that's been discussed. If it has please forgive me, I'm a newbie. I have a 2000 montero sport LS 4x4. I have a slow leak under the vehicle, seems to be under the drivers seat. I took it to Hayward Mits very reluctantly after the service guy on the phone asked me about 3 times if I was sure it wasn't just condensation off the A/C. I took it there, and he called me and said it was my valve (Fumoto, http://www.fumotovalve.com/ ) I had installed in place of the bolt/washer in the oil pan. He called it a 10$ jiffy lube valve and charged me 80$ for the service. And no, he didn't give me the fumoto valve back. I brought it home and it's still leaking to this day(took it in about 3 months ago). I expect that kind of service from a shade tree mechanic but not Mitsubishi themselves. Anyhow, has anyone experienced a slow leak from this area? If so any advice? I'm not afraid to bust a knuckle or three and swallow a quart of oil. I took it to them cause I couldn't track the leak down and had been pretty busy betwen work and family(my 2 year old waging war on the house) All of my fluid levels look good, which really confuses me. I can't find the other site I used to visit, but there was a really bright guy named Joe or Joel on there? Does he frequent this site? After I get this leak taken care of I'd really like to see if I could make some smog legal power gains. I love my sport, but getting to Tahoe can be a chore in it.

Thanks
Bug[size]

Old 10-29-2005, 10:27 PM
Default RE: Anyone Else have this Slow Leak??

You MUST be talking about me . Follow the link in my signature and visit the FAQ section that i made up on the Sport. Good Luck!

Joel, CA