Mitsubishi Montero & Montero Sport This sport utility vehicle offers more size than the other Mitsubishi SUVs, but manages to keep a sporty look and comfortable feel, unlike many larger SUVs.

Can the AWD linkage freeze?

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2007, 02:08 PM
Default Can the AWD linkage freeze?

Hello all newbie here looking to see if I can have some input on my AWD / 4-H issue.

The current temp here is like 5 degrees, and on my way to work I attempted to shift from AWD to 4-H...correctly I might add.

In doing this the stick moved a little, closer to the 4-H position although the light is not on and I am unable to move the stick either up to what I think is 4-H or back to the AWD position. [sm=WTFsgign.gif]
I understand it could be frozen (dealer said that this morning), but am I safe to be driving it? I have a trip (about 200 miles) tomorrow and I don't want to hurt my new baby!

Any advice?

Thanks! Mike

Old 02-02-2007, 02:31 PM
Default RE: Can the AWD linkage freeze?

What vehicle do you have?

Old 02-02-2007, 02:50 PM

Sorry, didn't realize the profile isn't here...
It is a 2002 Montero Sport LS, AWD 3.0 L.

Old 02-02-2007, 07:25 PM

Well, on my own I have figured out that the lights (4H / 4L) are not operating when I start the car, from what I have heard from THE DEALER [:'(] is that they should come on when starting.

I have an appointment tomorrow morning with them, I'll let everyone know why this is happening.

Old 02-02-2007, 08:04 PM

I didn't respond further because I don't know your xcase that well. I do know that the dash lights are replaceable. Just remove your instrument cluster to access them, but if you're not comfy with that, I'm sure the dealer will happily accept cash, check or charge

Old 02-02-2007, 08:29 PM

Well we'll see if the lights are the problem, cause like I said the stick is no longer movingat all plus the lights are not functioning.