Mitsubishi Outlander The new crossover from Mitsubishi, mixing the usefulness of an SUV with the size and convenience of a sport wagon.

2013 Outlander V6 erratic acceleration, loss of power

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2015, 06:26 PM
Default 2013 Outlander V6 erratic acceleration, loss of power

Hi Mitsubishi enthusiasts,

I have a 2013 Outlander V6 that I've been driving for the past 10 months. Loves the responsiveness and power the car has. However, about 2 weeks ago, I noticed a sharp drop in its performance. The car now struggles when trying to get up to 40 mph, generates excessive noise when I accelerate, feels sluggish (even my wife noticed it from the passenger seat) and seems to be sucking fuel (based on how quickly the fuel gauge was dropping).

After some research, I realize that it could be due to a host of issues (air pressure sensors, engine intake, transmission, etc). The car is still under warranty (<29K miles) and I am hoping it will cover the issues. I have an appt with the dealer in 2 days and wanted to see if anyone has had similar issues or advice on what the dealer will probably find. Just want to be ready in case the dealer comes back with an exorbitant quote

Thanks in advance if anyone would give their 2 cents.

Cheers!

Old 08-03-2015, 06:45 PM

You should still be under the bumper to bumper warranty. I don't think the dealer has an option but to fix the problem... I don't think there's a wear item that could cause those problems...

Did it set a check engine light?

Old 08-03-2015, 07:44 PM

Airbox is the first easy thing to check, it's a bit awkward to put together right. If it's loose, it's probably your problem.

Usually if you get your car serviced anywhere for an oil change, inspection or anything, they'll check your airbox air filter and put it back together wrong.

Old 08-04-2015, 12:51 PM

Guy,