Mitsubishi Outlander The new crossover from Mitsubishi, mixing the usefulness of an SUV with the size and convenience of a sport wagon.

Broken coil spring due to cold weather???

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2010, 02:58 PM
Question Broken coil spring due to cold weather???

Is this a common problem in cold climates ( e.g. Canada etc)?
This morning I went to move my Outlander off my drive and upon turning the steering wheel I heard a loud ' crack'. It transpired that the front offside suspension coil spring had snapped. The car was recovered to my local dealer where it is awaiting repair.They say it failed due to the ''cold weather '' ???..only -1deg celcius today; the car has experienced much colder temps in past. I have been driving for over 40 years and this is the first time I have heard of such an occurence,? Anyone heard of similar?
Thankfully extended warranty in use again !....
Ron

Last edited by ronwill; 11-26-2010 at 03:22 PM.
Old 11-26-2010, 03:41 PM

If that was true, Outlanders would not last long in Canada where -40C is a regular occurrence in winter.

I suspect a defect of the spring or corrosion.

Old 11-26-2010, 04:39 PM

+1. Defective spring or something. Would have to be mightly cold for steel to get brittle enough to crack like that...

Old 11-26-2010, 06:00 PM

+2 on defective spring

It was -5 C here today and mine are fine. It gets down to -15 to -25 C here several times during the winter, and I have never had an issue.

Old 11-26-2010, 09:49 PM

had to be defective. there's no possible way cold could do that. We just had temperatures of -30 (-45 with windchill) for a week here in alberta and my outlander didnt even flinch. They're feeding you a whole pile of ....

Old 11-27-2010, 02:59 PM
Thumbs up re broken coil spring