Mitsubishi Outlander The new crossover from Mitsubishi, mixing the usefulness of an SUV with the size and convenience of a sport wagon.

Hypermiling with Outlanders

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2007, 11:17 AM
Default Hypermiling with Outlanders

Hello everyone...I am a noob looking to get informed on my Outlander. This forum is the best I have seen so far, so pat yourselves on the back. I own a 2004 Outlander LS AWD.

With the gas prices being what they are, I have been looking into Hypermiling techniques. I gave my Outie a complete tuneup, jacked the tire pressures to 42f/40r and drove for a few days using Hypermiling. I still have some excess weight in the back to get rid of. Here's what I got so far, and it floored me...

148.9 miles - 5.117 gallons = 29.09 mpg

I was just flabbergasted, because I used to be a road rage freak and would only average 17-18 mpg.

Please share your Hypermiling techniques or stories!

Old 06-01-2007, 01:31 PM
Default RE: Hypermiling with Outlanders

wow, that's amazing... you must accelerate really slowly then, and keep a long distance between you and the car in front of you? how do you do it? do you drive outside of urban area's?
I only reach 10.3 l/100 km aka 22.9 MPG (from the digital display) with my sporty driving style, although I do apply the basics of hypermiling, just not the part of the acceleration! Also driving on dirttracks or in soft sand uses a lot of fuel
Also I believe the quality of fuel makes quite a difference, and I suppose motor oil also has an impact.
regards

Old 06-01-2007, 05:13 PM

Wow, I can't imagine hypermiling. I just can't bring myself to do it, lol.
I would have to detune and lower my boost pressure just to make myself do that.
Kudos to you guys that can "make" yourselves do that.