Mitsubishi Forum - Mitsubishi Enthusiast Forums

Mitsubishi Forum - Mitsubishi Enthusiast Forums (https://mitsubishiforum.com/forum/)
-   Mitsubishi Outlander (https://mitsubishiforum.com/forum/mitsubishi-outlander-10/)
-   -   Loud Clicking noise from engine compartment area (https://mitsubishiforum.com/forum/mitsubishi-outlander-10/loud-clicking-noise-engine-compartment-area-42953/)

MitsuOutlanderXLS_08 08-30-2012 08:49 AM

Loud Clicking noise from engine compartment area

Hello all,

Newbie here! My Wife recently purchased a 2008 Mitsubishi Outlander XLS and is very happy with the consumer reports on this vehicle. The dealership did the 109 point inspection and replaced out all new tires, rotors, brakes and the shifter solenoid. Everything seems to drive fine and work well!

While test driving the vehicle, we noticed, while in park, a loud clicking / clacking noise in/near the engine compartment, which happens every 10 - 20 seconds intervals or so.

I have been researching the internet and this forum and only came across fuel injectors making this particular noise.

Is anyone else experiencing this? Is this normal or a major concern?

Thank you in advance!

Kevin

OutlanderGT 08-30-2012 01:46 PM

Probably the air condition system.
Mine sound like an air refrigerator coming on.

MitsuOutlanderXLS_08 08-30-2012 01:58 PM

Originally Posted by OutlanderGT (Post 286716)
Probably the air condition system.
Mine sound like an air refrigerator coming on.

LOL - I know exactly what you are saying. Once the A/C kicks on it sounds like a jet getting ready to take off!

I had the vehicle idle in my garage, with the A/C on and noticed the clunking noises. I decided to turn the A/C off and the clunking/clanking noise stopped. So i am assuming, the A/C is causing the noise and I maybe over reacting.
Thanks!

OutlanderGT 08-30-2012 02:31 PM

OK so you found it, it is the clutch in the AC compressor cycles off and on,