Mitsubishi Outlander The new crossover from Mitsubishi, mixing the usefulness of an SUV with the size and convenience of a sport wagon.

Noise from left side of fuel tank area???

Search this Thread

Old 06-09-2007, 09:33 PM
Default Noise from left side of fuel tank area???

Guys I may be over reacting to this, but I will not take my chances. I noticed a slight hizzing sound coming from the fuel tank area, left side(driver side) close to were the fuel lines meet the fuel tank. Is this simply the sound made by the fuel being sucked away from the fuel tank or should I take it to the dealer? Can some of you guys confirm this and see if your outies make this noise also, you will have to pay attention and get close to the tank, I dint notice ituntill I changed my oil and heard it, now I'm paranoid and hear it all the time.

Old 06-10-2007, 06:58 AM
Default RE: Noise from left side of fuel tank area???

I'm no expert but it's common to hear a buzzing noises from fuel pumps in hot weather

Old 06-10-2007, 08:26 AM

You had the thing running when you did the oil change? I know you didn't just sounds like thats how you said it. If the sound was coming from the gas tank area when you had the outie running and it has been hot lately maybe its a vent bleeding off. The tank could be heating up from the exhaust running past it. Look for vents and see if it does the same sound when it cools down at night and the motor has cooled off.

Old 06-10-2007, 09:51 AM

I'm with Anto on this one - likely venting. Temperature and atmospheric pressure changes impact it the most. Assuming there are some breather hoses coming off the tank somewhere(and are readily available for inspection), make sure no road debris is clogging them.

Old 06-10-2007, 10:20 AM