New Members Area Just Joined? Be sure to pop in here and introduce yourself.

DSM Newbie Here

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2013, 04:28 PM
Default DSM Newbie Here

Hi,
I'm new to the forum and new to dsm's in general. I just bought my first one a few weeks ago. It's a 1995 Eclipse GSX with a 6bolt swap from a 90 GSX. Other than the swap and the 3g revised lifters I installed yesterday, the car is completely stock.

I changed out the spark plugs about a week ago with E3's. Are these good plugs to run in this car?
From the time I bought the car I have been experiencing some performance issues. The clutch seems to be slipping. When boost kicks in, the RPMs crank up without any power increase to the tires, then the RPMs go back down and tires get power again. It doesn't do this all the time but more often than not, mostly when i'm gunning it. I've already bought a new clutch (6 puck ceramic stage 2 racing clutch from eClutchmaster on Ebay) to put in the car. Hopefully this will solve this issue. Any advise/constructive criticism would be great.

The other issue i'm having is more troubling to me. My CEL is on and the codes coming from it are, P0300 - Random cylider misfire, and P0443 - EVAP system purge control valve circuit.
My symptoms are as I'm coasting in gear (any gear) between 2700-3500 RPMs the engine kinda hiccups and then starts running rough. It starts shaking and when I add throttle it feels like the engine is misfiring and struggling to keep up with the load and produces a low tone roar from the exhaust. I can turn the car off and back on again and the car runs smooth again for a little bit then goes back to rough when I start cruising again.
The guy I bought the car from told me that the misfire code comes from the 6bolt swap and is a misread from the ECU and that I can install the ECMLink chip and set it to ignore the random misfire code and theengine would run fine afterward. Is this good advise? Will this solve my issue?