Nitrous, Super Chargers, & Turbos All charged talk about going, and going FAST!

EMS help

Search this Thread

Old 11-05-2007, 02:58 PM
Default EMS help

Hey guys I have a question about EMS. I was told that EMS really helps out your car alot but heres my thing. I dont know anything about it. I've heard things about controlling stuff in your car like fuel control and everything. I'm very new to all these stuff. Just a basic guy who likes tuning cars. So jus wonderin what EMS is all about. And whats the price range on those and is it worth it.

Old 11-05-2007, 03:20 PM
Banned
Default RE: EMS help

There are many kinds.

There is your average "Piggy Back". Your car has a pre programmed fuel map right? A set amount of air and fuel that it feeds to the engine. What this device is it modifies the signal to your cars fuel system adding more air or more fuel. Now, why would anyone want to do this? Let me explain. The leaner your air/fuel ratio, the more power you make. However, the leaner you make it, the more heat that gets built up, and the more 'detonation' can happen (do a google search for this). So what you are trying to do is tune it where its not too lean, and not too rich. The richer (more fuel), the safer it is, the less heat, and it helps prevent detonation. The only problem with the Piggy Back is that with injectors over about 660cc, one little notch of adjustment can change your fuel ratio a crap load. So its only good for those smaller hp setups.

Why would you have to modify it in the first place? Well after you start adding mods like exhaust, intake etc... your air/fuel ratio changes slightly with each mod, and in order to get the total benifits of this, you need to 'fine tune' the air fuel ratio a little.