2nd Generation This includes all Eclipses, and Talons built from 1995-1999

?'s about SAFC2

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2006, 03:23 PM
Default ?'s about SAFC2

I bought and installed my S-AFC2 and AEM wideband. I have played with it alittle but not too much. Waiting until this friday or next to get injectors. I am still really new to this, I am learning alot, but many things I still dont know or confuse me, so please be patient with me.

1. My Check Engine Light came on. Got it checked out and it was the throttle position sensor. What does that mean?

2. The SAFC2 shows alot of knock. When I parked it 5 minutes ago at idle knock was 30. What does this mean?

3. What is throttle correction exactly?

Old 06-29-2006, 03:46 PM
Super Moderator
Default RE: ?'s about SAFC2

1) my guess is that you messed up one of the wires when you hooked up the safc. Maybe there is a bad connection.

2) Knock is also known as pre-ignition. For a good write-up on it go to this link and somewhere in there is a heading for pre-ignition, you need to read this becuase this is not a good thing https://mitsubishiforum.com/m_42371/tm.htm

3) and what do you mean by throttle correction. If your talking about the safc settings, i think your wondering about the high and low throttle settings correct? in this case i think you set the low to around 25% and the high to around 65%. What this means is when you tune the high throttle your tuning when your greater than 65% throttle. The low really doesnt matter too much cuz you wont even tune that, its pointless. Hopefully this is what you meant.

Old 06-29-2006, 04:08 PM

1. You might be right about that, I was driving before the light came on, and out of the corner of my eye I think I saw the CEL flash just for a second. About 20 minutes later it was on. I'll check that.