2nd Generation This includes all Eclipses, and Talons built from 1995-1999

Turbo upgrade

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2004, 02:20 AM
Default Turbo upgrade

I just bought a 92 talon turbo and I was wondering what kind of simple upgrades I could do to it. Im just getting into imports becasue Ive always done muscle cars. But I got this car for $750 from a friend wanting to get rid of it to make room for an I-ROCcamaro he just bought. CouldI just swap out the turbo and BOV and maybe change it to front mount intercooler? I have no idea. somebody please help me. </P>

John</P>

listenersaudio@aol.com </P>

Old 02-20-2004, 04:32 PM
Default Turbo upgrade

Hey, that's cool. There are staged upgrades for your car. If you're now getting into imports, here's a few things. Your car will be be called a "1g" or "1st gen". It is also a "DSM". DSM stand for Diamond Star Motors and there are clubs or chapters in just about every state and city. Also, DSM include eclipses,eagle talons, and plymouth lasers, from years 89-99. The new eclipses are not DSM's and have barely any relation to your car.Eclipse's from 2000 on are more like rolling garbage cans.So your car is mostly going to be referred to as a "1g dsm". to your question, yeah there are many things to do to help you go faster. There is a faq on how to spend $10 and get into the high 13's. Not bad huh? The first things to do are to uncork the factory restrictions. Just the small things that let you turn up the boost an extra 2-3psi. If you don't wanna spend a lot, first invest in a boost gauge. The factory one is very inaccurate and just gives an idea of when the turbo is spooled. You'll need a boost gauge to see how much you are boosting, Overboost and you'll kill the engine. But your engine can take a lot of abuse. From trying to look like a hero to outright mechanical hatred, turbo dsm's can take a lot of abuse. But visit the site www.vfaq.comor www.dsm.org </P>

also if you wanna buy parts, go to www.dsmtrader.com</P>