2nd Generation This includes all Eclipses, and Talons built from 1995-1999

Water pump/ belts / head gasket change

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2006, 03:48 PM
Default Water pump/ belts / head gasket change

Hey guys. Our winter car is a 97 Eclipse GS and after sitting most of the summer, we just got her back on the road. Parked in the driveway last night and a couple hours later noticed some coolant leakage. Im a Lincoln tech so I brought it to my shop and put her up in the air and the coolants leaking from the top right passenger side of the motor. Cant really pinpoint the location though. Ive heard a lot about water pumps and head gaskets needing replacing on these cars. My question is does the motor need to be yanked to replace the water pump and head gasket. I also plan on replacing all the belts and tensioners when this is done. Just trying to figure out what Ill need and if Ill have to do it at my shop. Im not familiar with the 2.0 in these cars but Id hate to have to bring it to a Mitsu dealer if its something I can do myself.

Old 12-07-2006, 03:52 PM
Default RE: Water pump/ belts / head gasket change

motor dont have to be pulled,but you will have to take the mount off of course.. its just a little tight to work on

Old 12-07-2006, 05:00 PM

Are there any special cam holding tools needed, or special tools needed to set up timing? All Ford OHC motors have quite a lengthy list of T-tools for engine work. Thanks for the reply.

Old 12-07-2006, 05:01 PM

Also, are there any other common things that I should get done while Im that deep? Im doing the head gasket, water pump, belts/tensioners.

Old 12-08-2006, 02:34 AM