Everything else Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue that doesnt fit into the other categories?? Ask it here!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

96 Lancer Head Gasket Job!

Search this Thread

Old 07-15-2009, 08:31 PM
Default 96 Lancer Head Gasket Job!

Hey all,

I'm attempting a head gasket job on a 96 Lancer 4G93 SOHC engine. It was leaking a LOT of oil, like gushing/squirting out from what looked like the head gasket below the pressure switch.

I've never done this before but I have already managed to get the head off the car without stuffing anything up (i think)

I have a few newbie questions:

1.The cam pulley is suspended up high to keep the timing. The auto tensioner has come all the way out and I think when i go to put the pulley back on it will no longer reach. The book says to pull off crankshaft pulley and then the tensioner, then push it back in a vice and reinstall it with a pin to hold it back. Is there any way to get the tensioner back in without pulling it all off, has anyone done this? I haven't tried too much force just pushing the tensioner pulley as i didn't want to bend/break the pulley, but it does seem very hard to push it back. Access is very restricted since the lower timing belt cover is still on.

2. I have to replace the radiator, it is cracked and leaking and badly corroded, but being an auto it has 2 connectors where the oil cooler pipes come in from the tranny. A new radiator should come with these connectors right? I'm guessing the auto radiator is different to the manual's radiator as a manual wouldn't need these connectors?

3. I have the workshop manual for 4g93 DOHC it doesn't seem to have torque specs for the 4g93SOHC. Does anyone know if the head bolt torque specs for my engine 4g93SOHC are the same as that of the DOHC?