Everything else Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue that doesnt fit into the other categories?? Ask it here!

beefing up my galant

Old 09-03-2005, 01:38 PM
Qs
Default beefing up my galant

Hey guys,

first of all , i have to say its great being a mitsubishi owner , these cars have style!!!. Anyway i bought my 2002 galant 'scraped' from new york , i got it up here , changed all the parts for new ones , did most of the work myself , it has a new timing belt , new head gasket , new radiator , new motor mounts , new valves, most of the front is new, the motor is the 2.4 one and automatic transmission (tis my shame )
the engine has only 45 000 miles .

Ok so most of the mods i did were on the body, and wheels , and im starting the motor and performance issues , i already have a header and muffler installed , but still need the straight pipe to complete the exhaust system , now keep in mind i work in a bank so im not a mechanic, but like i said i did the rebuilding most of it myself . i got rid of the stock air intake and replaced it with a peeflow and a fan i custom made in front of it. the rest is stock but new.

now i already bought a cool shot dry nitrous kit, but im not too sure how to install it, and since its illegal up here , i cant get it installed by a pro, i got some guys that know lots of mechanics but the older kind , which were not fuel injections. its the kind of kit with a gun that u insert the tank in it, so i simply pull the trigger and 1 shot is shot into the intake. each tank is 30 shots. now i looked on the web and saw a lot of intake that blew up coz of nitrous , but i believe they were all big gains like 100 or more.

i would like to know if u have any suggestions about what i should do before installing the kit.
it is a small nitrous kit i think gives about 30 to 50 hp gain . I was told i will have to retard the timing by a bit. maybe upgrade my computer.

anyway if anyone has any nitrous kit at all , tips would be appreciated