Everything else Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue that doesnt fit into the other categories?? Ask it here!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Finding the right engine?

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2007, 03:11 PM
Default Finding the right engine?

I am somewhat new and unfamiliar with Mitsubishis, and in fact I am still learning about cars in general.

Anywho, more to the point. I have been informed about a second generation eclipse that had it's engine stolen awhile back and have been considering getting it and just finding a new engine for it. Now I havn't been told anything more than "It is an Eclipse" really. I am not sure about the year nor if it is RS/GS/etc, but I don't think I need to be overly concerned about that either.

Now I don't know exactly what engine I should be looking for just for a simple drop in install being that I don't know the exacts on the car, but for reference purposes I just was looking up the Mitsubishi 4G63 engine.

I am not sure if it is the same with the Chrysler engines that went into some of the Eclipses (Which is probably what this had anyway), but supposedly the 4G63 engine was used in the first generation Eclipse aswell.

Basically I am just wondering if, despite being from seperate "generations", would they work in a later (95-99) Eclipse without some horrible problems?

And while I am on the subject, is there a different kind of engine (Aside from the 4G63 or 420A Engines that came in the eclipse) that I could/should look for?

Thanks in advance

Old 08-09-2007, 06:37 AM
Super Moderator
Default RE: Finding the right engine?