Interior Wiring Discuss everything in the car here, from boost controllers to custom wiring.

'11 outlander busted electronics by brake controller

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-2012, 09:40 PM
Default '11 outlander busted electronics by brake controller

Hi all, I'm a newbie in this forum as a member and it sure is interesting to find great ideas in here.

I need help. Here's my short story: My '11 outlander has a class 3 hitch installed OEM, electrics done as well, a 4-pin. I got a travel trailer that has electric brakes in them. So I needed a brake controller for my outy. Apparently our dealership here in Vancouver doesn't install such item and they say it is not in their list of accessories, so I was referred to an after market installer they recommend. After $450CAD it works (a Prodigy 2). The TT is a full fiberglass type with GVW of 3500. We travel light, at the scales it reads 2943lbs tanks full, had about 600km+ in total so far since we last towed. 3 weeks after not using the TT and removing the brake controller, the shift lever was locked in Park; engine brake light came on; AWC on/off light came on; "service required" flashed.

Those are not the only ones that failed, there's more. Was able to use outy by pressing a button to unlock it from Park ...manuals, aren't they just wonderful?... So I got it going, however, cruise control wasn't working. with a trusty OBD2 it read P0703- torque brake on/off switch malfunction ...dang! Also found out that the ABS doesn't work ...double dang! Brake lights weren't working ...dang! dang! dang!