Mitsubishi Lancer and Lancer Sportback Newer to the United States, the Lancer line offers a sporty compact sedan, with all of the fine styling of the performance minded Evolution.

engine misfire

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2008, 02:49 AM
Default engine misfire

My girlfriend has 2002 lancer with a 2.0 engine. she took a trip home this weekend and she said on the way up there the engine was bogging pretty bad. when she got back. it stopped, but every nowand then i will feel it stumble at idle. we took it to autozone to get a diagnostic test because the engine light was on. this is what the read out said.

catalyitic converter defective (i doubt it)

engine misfire or running lean condition

large vacuum leak

engine oil leakage into exhaust valve-valve guide seals

piston rings.

im a classic car restorer so i only work with non-computerized classic v8 engines, but im a mechanic so its the same principals. the plugs are also new. before i tear into this thing, has anyone experianced these symtoms? what do yall think?

Old 07-22-2008, 10:54 AM
Banned
Default RE: engine misfire

Plugs gapped correctly?

Spark plug wires in good condition? Replaced recently?

Old 07-22-2008, 01:43 PM

I bet it is the catalyctic converter. if the car is about 60,000 to 100,000 miles it should be the cat converter.

My friend has the same issue. went to 2 auto tech they all said it is the cat converter

or wrong spark plug gap orvoltage regulator

Old 07-22-2008, 02:24 PM
Banned

Not all that crap its not the cat.

Old 07-22-2008, 05:22 PM
Super Moderator

What was the code? I doubt its all that, prabably an ignition missfire. Does it have a coil on plug set up?

Old 07-23-2008, 08:48 AM

the plug gap is correct. as far as the code, i was given an autozone print out and i dont see a code on it. it does have the coil per plug set up.

Old 07-23-2008, 09:38 AM