Mitsubishi Montero & Montero Sport This sport utility vehicle offers more size than the other Mitsubishi SUVs, but manages to keep a sporty look and comfortable feel, unlike many larger SUVs.

2002 montero ceck engine light

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-2016, 05:25 PM
Default 2002 montero ceck engine light

I have a 2002 montero xls and the service engine soon light is on. I ran the codes and got two. Po325 which is the knock sensor, and po155 which is o2 sensor (bank 2 sensor). I'm not a mechanical by any means but I am pretty handy and I can work on older cars but not so much with cimputers engines. So my question is could I do this fix at home and if so does anyone have any idea where I should start.

Old 06-28-2016, 05:29 AM

Can't help you with the diagnostics, but I can help you with location of the devices. Very straight forward to replace, but I don't know if your problem is that of bad parts.

Below is my experience with a 3.5L from my 2002 Montero Sport XLS AWD:

The knock sensor is a small black chip about the size of Chicolet piece of gum and is on top of the engine to the right of the oil filler.

Regarding the "Bank 2 Oxygen Sensor", I don't know which bank is number 2 (drivers or passengers?). The drivers side (left bank) catalytic converter has an O2 sensor upstream of the cat as does the passenger (right bank) side catalytic converter.

The passenger converter has the downstream O2 sensor for the right bank. At the end of the converter pipe is a wye with a flange. The left bank downstream O2 sensor is located there.

I bought Denso O2 sensors from Rock Auto. Buy the Lisle O2 socket which has a sidewall slit to allow the wire to pass. UL = upper left, DL = downstream left, UR=upstream right, DR = downstream right.

The upstream O2 sensors connect to sockets at the top rear-right of the engine. The downstream O2 sensors connect to sockets on the right frame rail at about the door post location, just forward of the muffler.