Mitsubishi Montero & Montero Sport This sport utility vehicle offers more size than the other Mitsubishi SUVs, but manages to keep a sporty look and comfortable feel, unlike many larger SUVs.

95 Montero tach not working

  #1  
Old 09-05-2010, 06:06 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
Default 95 Montero tach not working

Where are the connections in the engine compartment of the tach wires so I can check if one came loose. Please also tell me the location of whatever the wires are connected to and any challenges reaching them. Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 10-02-2010, 12:00 AM
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Default Me Too

I also have a 95 Montero LS and my TAC quit working a while ago. I'm ready to dig into it as well. It worked intermittently for a while then just totally stopped. Any advice on where to start is appreciated
 
  #3  
Old 01-21-2019, 01:13 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Corrales
Posts: 1
Default

Im new to this board, and i'm hear for the tach issue and and ecu question. I have a 95 montero SR 3.5l 24 valve.
I been reading, but have not found a solution so far.

First, does a 1995 montero Sr support odb2. I have found 1996 listed as first year in some places and 95 listed in others.
I have never got it to talk a single word, and i have tried . even bought a Mitsubishi obd2 meter .
i've ohmed the data pin on odb2 plug to ecu, looks good a short, , but no odb2.
I am wondering if this is related to issue #2, tach does not work reliably. I replaced the orig tach, with an ebay purchase. the only time it has worked is when its cold out.

, Vin # , i'll add as soon as i find it again, it decides what is what if you have the decoder ring

thanks in advance for any help
chris
 
  #4  
Old 03-31-2019, 09:13 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 1
Default

Did anyone figure this out? Sorry for the necro. I had a alternator spike voltage and mine stopped working. the Tach check plug on the fire wall shows voltage. I tried a donor cluster but no joy. My vehicle is a 01 sport.
 
  #5  
Old 04-05-2019, 05:14 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 100
Default

Sure would be nice if everyone would help with these issues. A quick "How To" thread would be fantastic......How to repair/diagnose a failed tachometer.

I am restoring a few 94 Monteros, and also will need to dig into this tach issue.



Here is a pic of the dash in one of my 94 Montero's:



Fortunately I have a couple used speedo/tach clusters which might be repairable. However, I imagine the tach issue is normally a broken cable, or the drive gear at the tip of the cable.
I believe this cluster comes out pretty easy, and my shop manual details the proper procedure.



Maybe some experts will reply with more information to make this thread useable to others.
 
  #6  
Old 04-08-2019, 02:37 AM
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 56
Default Questions

Hey guys,

First of all, while the 95's have a data port that physically matches OBD2, it is definitely not an OBD2 compliant port. In order to interface with the system, you will need a Mitsubishi MUT2 reader (only available from Mitsubishi, as I understand, at great personal cost too).

Second, I have had the instrument clusters out of several 95's and 96's, and there is NO physical/analog tach connector, it's purely electronic. If your tach is malfunctioning, I would bet it's the guage itself. Easy to change if you have spare guage clusters.
 
  #7  
Old 04-08-2019, 06:42 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 100
Default

Markroberts61.......Yep, my 94s would not connect to the obd2 scanner.....said something like "unable to establish communication...". Also, I think that all stored data is erased when the battery is disconnected......and I am using battery disconnects on all my 94s, so I guess I loose any data every time i disconnect the power. Which leads to another question.....does the computer have to "relearn" how to set the idle speed? Seems mine want to idle a bit high, and one in particular wants to idle over 2000rpm after start up.....tap the gas pedal, and it wants to idle even higher.

No tach cables.....so, maybe a broken wire, or connection pulled loose? Where is the sensor/wire that sends the signal?
 
  #8  
Old 04-08-2019, 08:28 AM
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 56
Default Wheres the wire?

All of the wiring connections at the motor are under the plastic cover on top (I remove these covers and throw them away, but you are restoring, so that wont work) and the signal starts with the crank position sensor. The thing is, if that was bad, it wouldn't run, so if it is a physical wiring issue, it would be between the ECU and the tach. I think the tach itself is the weak link here. Try swapping in a spare, otherwise you'll need a fsm wiring diagram.
 
  #9  
Old 04-08-2019, 04:02 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 100
Default

Mark.....Well, must be current running to the tach, and Im guessing a type of reostat that sends more current at the rpms increase? So, there should be an electrical reading at the tach where the wire feeds it. But as you say, if I have a working spare, I can plug it in and see if it works.....if not, must not be getting the power feed.

When you say "all the wiring connections are under the plastic cover on the top", do you mean the black plastic box to the right hand side of the battery in the pic below?: (Under the toothbrush):



By the way, mine is missing the 20A ABS fuse (center one in the pic below): The 60A ABS is there, but I wonder why the 20A slot is empty. My ABS light is on, and I was wondering if someone had removed this 20A fuse.....but now think it came this way from the factory. Any idea? If it was empty from the factory, then why is the fuse slot there?

 
  #10  
Old 04-08-2019, 04:50 PM
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 56
Default Cover? What cover?

Lol!!! I see that someone has already done away with it. It covers all of those connectors on top of the intake runners. I like the look of real parts more than "beautification covers" anyway. It's kind of funny to see an engine normal since I painted mine all white to show leaks.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: 95 Montero tach not working


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.