Mitsubishi Montero & Montero Sport This sport utility vehicle offers more size than the other Mitsubishi SUVs, but manages to keep a sporty look and comfortable feel, unlike many larger SUVs.

MONTERO 4H Speed and Manumatic Limitations?

Search this Thread

Old 08-05-2012, 10:18 PM
Default MONTERO 4H Speed and Manumatic Limitations?

Hello Everyone. New owner of an 06 Montero. While driving from San Antonio to Houston, it started raining and wanted to switch to 4H (All wheel drive). Needless to say I didn't get the ***** to switch from 2H to 4H as I'm new to 4wd/AWD world. My question is it okay to switch from 2H to 4H going 65-70mph? Does 4H have a limit as to how fast you can drive it? Will I be able to cruise 75-80mph on 4H without damage to the 4wd system? Can I use 4H all the time? Understand that I am talking about 4H and not 4HLc.

Another question is switching to manumatic while on the go. Is there a limit as to when to engage manumatic (at certain speed limit).

I appreciate the response, as I am a newbie when it comes to the Montero's features.

Old 08-06-2012, 12:20 PM

what does your owners manual say ?????

Old 08-06-2012, 09:17 PM

Originally Posted by mxmikie
what does your owners manual say ?????
Yeah, first place I could have looked, if I have a manual for the vehix. I'm the 3rd owner of the vehix, so the manual may have been with the initial or the secondary owner. Vehix was sold as is. Thanks for the reply Mxmikie

Old 08-06-2012, 11:28 PM