Mitsubishi Outlander The new crossover from Mitsubishi, mixing the usefulness of an SUV with the size and convenience of a sport wagon.

2011 Hood strut kit.

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2011, 05:34 PM
Default 2011 Hood strut kit.

Ok, so I'm no novice at wrenching- Auto and diesel locomotive mechanic and trained machinist.

Just got the hood strut kit from E-Bay.

The directions started off stating "2008 Outlander". I've a 2011.

The brackets that are bolted to the hood look as if the ball mount goes to the outside- Cannot be done on the 2011.

Anybody put them on a 2011?

How were the hood brackets installed- look like the ball mount can go to the inside.

There is one bolt on the fender, I am guessing that this is the one that is used for the lower mount?

Any advise will be helpful. (So would more detailed directions.)

Old 04-13-2011, 07:58 AM

Originally Posted by milliesdad
Ok, so I'm no novice at wrenching- Auto and diesel locomotive mechanic and trained machinist.

Just got the hood strut kit from E-Bay.

The directions started off stating "2008 Outlander". I've a 2011.

The brackets that are bolted to the hood look as if the ball mount goes to the outside- Cannot be done on the 2011.

Anybody put them on a 2011?

How were the hood brackets installed- look like the ball mount can go to the inside.

There is one bolt on the fender, I am guessing that this is the one that is used for the lower mount?

Any advise will be helpful. (So would more detailed directions.)
There's one guy in Moscow, Russia making hood dampers for all 3 generations of Outlander, including 2010+. He is manufacturer, not a seller. I'll try to ask him and some of his customers to share at least photos of 2010+ Outlander hood dampers.
By the way he tells that dampers for 2007-2009 and 2010+ models are quite different - 2010's ones are shorter and less powerful.

Old 04-13-2011, 01:00 PM