Mitsubishi Outlander The new crossover from Mitsubishi, mixing the usefulness of an SUV with the size and convenience of a sport wagon.

Common Problems?

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2011, 04:19 PM
Default Common Problems?

My wife just had to have an Outlander so I found an 07 XLS loaded with only 53K miles for $17K. Thought it was a good deal, but on day 3 the steering column locked up, had to order a new Steering column from Japan, now a cable to the shifter. I need to update the Navi, the Rear windows have an issue with the seals, so they have to be replaced. Do I have more to look foreward to? I also need to replace the cup holder by the drivers left knee...They want $70 from the Stealership and I can't find it aftermarket. I also need new clips for the mid row seatbelts so that smaller people can adjust them off their neck, but I can't find them aftermarket. I'm new to this japan market can anyone point me in the right direction or give me advise b4 my warranty runs out.

Old 10-08-2011, 04:59 PM

Are you sure the car wasnt in a major accident? I have not heard of those issues...the closest is the rear windows wont go up properly when the grease dries up in the rails. However the car is rock solid otherwise in terms of major components.

Old 10-09-2011, 05:08 PM

Yeah, it sounds as if your Outlander was in a major accident before. I haven't heard of anyone having their steering wheel locked up. It sounds as if the thing was hit hard before. My Outlander is pretty much rock solid. There are little creeks here and there but as far as mechanical failures. So far after 3 years it has zero. Oh, for some reason my lock/unlock door remote was deprogrammed (it got fixed within a day) but other than that its perfect.

Old 10-10-2011, 11:38 AM

our's has been pretty solid. In terms of failures...only had a wheel sensor go out 2 years ago.